To the Editor:
—Regarding the article "The Celiac Syndrome (Malabsorption) in Pediatrics" (JAMA180:308 [April 28] 1962), certain points regarding the exclusion of gluten from diet are not brought up. It is important to realize that many candies contain gluten and that the outer container should be checked. Our experience is that only candies which are transparent can be considered as safe without checking the package. We also find that commercial baking powder contains gluten.Many products are labelled as containing starch, which may or may not contain gluten. Anything that is marked as containing starch should be used only when "cornstarch" is specifically mentioned. We find that eating even one candy containing gluten is enough to upset a patient with celiac disease.