AMA's Physician's Recognition Awards: First Cycle, New Criteria, and Future

JAMA. 1972;221(7):709-710. doi:10.1001/jama.1972.03200200055016.
Text Size: A A A
Published online


The Physician's Recognition Award was established by the House of Delegates of the American Medical Association at the Clinical Session in Miami, December 1968. The resolution provided that 150 credit hours of continuing medical education over a 3-year period would be required for the award. Through the support and cooperation of the then American Academy of General Practice, it was possible to offer the award to all physicians for the first time in 1969. Since then, a total of 28,404 physicians have qualified for it. Since the award is valid for three years, physicians who have qualified for the 1969 award will be applying for the 1972 award, thus completing the first cycle. Information booklets and application forms for the 1972 Award are being mailed during July and August.

The experience of the first three years of the award program has enabled the Subcommittee on the Physician's Recognition Award to


Sign In to Access Full Content

Don't have Access?

Register and get free email Table of Contents alerts, saved searches, PowerPoint downloads, CME quizzes, and more

Subscribe for full-text access to content from 1998 forward and a host of useful features

Activate your current subscription (AMA members and current subscribers)

Purchase Online Access to this article for 24 hours




Meets CME requirements for:
Browse CME for all U.S. States
Accreditation Information
The American Medical Association is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. The AMA designates this journal-based CME activity for a maximum of 1 AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM per course. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. Physicians who complete the CME course and score at least 80% correct on the quiz are eligible for AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM.
Note: You must get at least of the answers correct to pass this quiz.
You have not filled in all the answers to complete this quiz
The following questions were not answered:
Sorry, you have unsuccessfully completed this CME quiz with a score of
The following questions were not answered correctly:
Commitment to Change (optional):
Indicate what change(s) you will implement in your practice, if any, based on this CME course.
Your quiz results:
The filled radio buttons indicate your responses. The preferred responses are highlighted
For CME Course: A Proposed Model for Initial Assessment and Management of Acute Heart Failure Syndromes
Indicate what changes(s) you will implement in your practice, if any, based on this CME course.
Citing articles are presented as examples only. In non-demo SCM6 implementation, integration with CrossRef’s "Cited By" API will populate this tab (http://www.crossref.org/citedby.html).


Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Sign In to Access Full Content

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging & repositioning the boxes below.