We're unable to sign you in at this time. Please try again in a few minutes.
We were able to sign you in, but your subscription(s) could not be found. Please try again in a few minutes.
There may be a problem with your account. Please contact the AMA Service Center to resolve this issue.
Contact the AMA Service Center:
Telephone: 1 (800) 262-2350 or 1 (312) 670-7827  *   Email: subscriptions@jamanetwork.com
Error Message ......
Medical News & Perspectives |

Miscellanea Medica

JAMA. 2002;288(22):2812. doi:10.1001/jama.288.22.2812-JMN1211-2-2.
Text Size: A A A
Published online


  • The Institute of Medicine has elected the following physicians to foreign associate membership: Gro H. Brundtland, MD, MPH, director general, World Health Organization, Geneva; Malegapuru W. Makgoba, MD, PhD, president, Medical Research Council of South Africa, Cape Town; Michael G. Marmot, MD, PhD, MPH, director, International Centre for Health and Society, department of epidemiology and public health, University College London, United Kingdom; Barry J. Marshall, MD, NHMRC Burnet Fellow, department of microbiology, University of Western Australia, Nedlands; Harald Zur Hausen, MD, scientific director, Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum (German Cancer Research Center), Heidelberg, Germany.

  • Pamela L. Ellsworth, MD, and Jodi K. Maranchie, MD, have joined the Division of Urology in the Department of Surgery at UMass Memorial Medical Center, Worcester, Mass. At the same institution, Karthik Ramaswamy, MD, and Dionyssios A. Robotis, MD, have joined the Division of Cardiac Services.

  • The 2002 Albert Lasker Awards have been bestowed as follows: Award for Basic Medical Research: James Rothman, PhD, Chair, Cellular Biochemistry and Biophysics Program, Sloan-Kettering Institute, New York City, and Randy Schekman, PhD, professor, Division of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, University of California, Berkeley. Award for Clinical Medical Research: Willem J. Kolff, PhD, MD, distinguished professor emeritus of Internal Medicine and Surgery, distinguished professor emeritus of Bioengineering and adjunct professor of Medicine, University of Utah, Salt Lake City and SUNY Downstate, Brooklyn, NY, and Belding H. Scribner, MD, professor emeritus of Medicine, University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle. Award for Special Achievement in Medical Research: James E. Darnell, Jr, MD, professor, Molecular Cell Biology Laboratory, Rockefeller University, New York City.

  • Mary A. Simmonds, MD, clinical professor of medicine at Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine, Hershey, and in practice with Andrews and Patel Associates in Camp Hill, Pa, is president of the American Cancer Society. She succeeds Robert C. Young, MD, president of Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia, Pa. Ralph B. Vance, MD, professor of medicine in the Division of Medical Oncology at the University of Mississippi School of Medicine, Jackson, is president-elect.

  • Benjamin A. Rosenberg, MD, has been promoted to clinical professor in the Department of Medicine at the State University of New York–Health Science Center at Brooklyn.

  • The following physicians have become staff of UMass Memorial Medical Center and faculty at the University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester: Ciaran J. McNamee, MD, Division of Thoracic Surgery; Hardy Kornfeld, MD, Division of Pulmonary Medicine; Veena Shankar, MD, Division of Cardiology; and Janice Fay Lalikos, MD, Division of Plastic Surgery. Sidney P. Kadish, MD, has been named director of radiation oncology at Simonds-Sinon Regional Cancer Center of UMass Memorial Health Care and HealthAlliance.

  • Frederick J. Kaskel, MD, PhD, professor of pediatrics and director of Pediatric Nephrology at the Children's Hospital of Montefiore Medical Center, New York City, has received the National Medical Award in Pediatric Nephrology from the Kidney and Nephrology Foundation of America.

  • C. Lee Parmley, MD, has been appointed chair of the Department of Critical Care in the Division of Anesthesiology and Critical Care at M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Tex.

First Page Preview

View Large
First page PDF preview




Also Meets CME requirements for:
Browse CME for all U.S. States
Accreditation Information
The American Medical Association is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. The AMA designates this journal-based CME activity for a maximum of 1 AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM per course. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. Physicians who complete the CME course and score at least 80% correct on the quiz are eligible for AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM.
Note: You must get at least of the answers correct to pass this quiz.
Please click the checkbox indicating that you have read the full article in order to submit your answers.
Your answers have been saved for later.
You have not filled in all the answers to complete this quiz
The following questions were not answered:
Sorry, you have unsuccessfully completed this CME quiz with a score of
The following questions were not answered correctly:
Commitment to Change (optional):
Indicate what change(s) you will implement in your practice, if any, based on this CME course.
Your quiz results:
The filled radio buttons indicate your responses. The preferred responses are highlighted
For CME Course: A Proposed Model for Initial Assessment and Management of Acute Heart Failure Syndromes
Indicate what changes(s) you will implement in your practice, if any, based on this CME course.


Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

0 Citations

Sign in

Purchase Options

• Buy this article
• Subscribe to the journal
• Rent this article ?

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging & repositioning the boxes below.

Articles Related By Topic
Related Collections

Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience
Ongoing ICU Care